The Project

The Kingston University led collaboration was formed in September 2016 and successfully granted £499, 956 worth of funding from the Office for Students under its Catalyst Project fund in March 2017. Working in partnership with five other partners, the collaboration sought to combine a wide mix of universities including a Russell group and a number from the London area to investigate the potential London effect on BME attainment. The institutions involved were University of Wolverhampton, University of Hertfordshire, De Montfort University, University of Greenwich and University College London.

The principal aim of the project was to see if the Kingston University developed Value Added score and Inclusive Curriculum Framework, which demonstrated high levels of success in addressing the BME attainment gap for Kingston, could be transferred to other institutions to address their BME attainment gaps.

The project was managed centrally at Kingston and was delivered by a team of specialists who conducted training and supported the roll-out of these initiatives at the partner institutions

The cross-disciplinary project team met face to face every 2/3 months to share successes and learnings. The development of this community of practice led to the expansion of activities outside the project scope, including the student curriculum consultant programme and the delivery of a special edition of Greenwich’s Compass journal.

The collaboration institutions have agreed to continue this community of practice post-project, with project leads continuing to share ongoing good practice to address the attainment gap.

The Project Team

Dr Helen Barefoot
University of Hertfordshire Deputy Director of the Learning and Teaching Innovation Centre h.barefoot@herts.ac.uk
Owen Beacock
Kingston University BME Attainment Gap Project Manager o.beacock@kingston.ac.uk
Evans Bhobho
University of Hertfordshire Race Equality Project Officer e.bhobho@herts.ac.uk
Dr Christine Couper
University of Greenwich Director of Strategic Planning c.j.couper@greenwich.ac.uk
Dr Julie Evans
UCL Faculty Tutor, Brain Sciences Julie.evans@ucl.ac.uk
Emma Fegan
Kingston University Strategic Programmes and Collaborations Manager e.fegan@kingston.ac.uk
Dr Phil Gravestock
University of Wolverhampton Dean of the College of Learning and Teaching p.gravestock@wlv.ac.uk
Chris Hall
De Montfort University Head of Equality and Diversity chris.hall@dmu.ac.uk
Annie Hughes
Kingston University Head of Academic Staff Development a.hughes@kingston.ac.uk    
Nona McDuff
Kingston University Director for Student Achievement n.mcduff@kingston.ac.uk
Kaushika Patel
De Montfort University Deputy Dean, Faculty of Health and Life Sciences Kpatel07@dmu.ac.uk
Mandy Stevenson
University of Greenwich Deputy Head, Department of Family Care & Mental Health M.J.Stevenson@greenwich.ac.uk
John Tatam
Kingston University BME Attainment Gap Advisor j.tatam@kingston.ac.uk
Paulette Williams
UCL Head of Student Success Projects Paulette.williams@ucl.ac.uk